Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education Minutes

July 26, 2023

The Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education held a special meeting on the above date at the Educational Service Center. The meeting was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by President, Chad Prieve. Board members present: Isaac Dornfeld, Marge Jorgensen, John Kraus, Jr., Lisa Panzer, Chad Prieve, Gary Spielman, and Joanne Tyjeski. Board members absent: Mary Kuntz and Maria Mason.

Kraus moved, Jorgensen seconded, the board recess into closed session pursuant to Wis. Stat. §19.82(1) and 19.85(1)(e) for the purpose of collective bargaining, deliberating or negotiating the purchasing of public properties, the investing of public funds, or conducting other specified public business, whenever competitive or bargaining reasons require a closed session. Specifically, to discuss negotiations with the BDEA.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Jorgensen, Kraus, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, and Dornfeld. No-None.

During closed session, there was discussion regarding negotiations with the BDEA. No action was taken during closed session.

Spielman moved, Tyjeski seconded, to reconvene into open session.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Jorgensen moved, Kraus seconded, for the board to impose District's final offer for the total base wage increase for certified staff members for the 2023-2024 contract year, as reflected in the written offer presented to the Board during tonight's meeting.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Jorgensen, and Kraus. No-Dornfeld.

Jorgensen moved, Spielman seconded, for the board to increase support staff compensation by 6% as applied to base wage for 2023-2024.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, Kraus, and Panzer. No-None.

Jorgensen moved, Kraus seconded, for the board to increase administrative compensation for qualified administrators by 5% for 2023-2024.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Spielman, Tyjeski, Jorgensen, Kraus, Panzer, and Prieve. No-Dornfeld.

Panzer moved, Kraus seconded, to approve the following appointments: Ashleigh Adamson-Grade 3 Teacher-Prairie View Elementary School; Melissa Argenzio-Physical Education Teacher-Lincoln Elementary School; Quade Buska-Math Teacher-High School; Shauna Cahill-Social Worker-Jefferson Elementary School; Kari Duax-Early Childhood Teacher-Wilson Elementary School; Shelly Ehlenbeck-Substitute Teacher-Elementary Schools (LTE 2023-24 school year); Anna Fischer-Grade 2 Teacher-Prairie View Elementary School (LTS 8/21/23-1/25/24); Morgan Fuhrer-Special Education Teacher-Middle School; James Gwin-Physical Education Teacher-Middle School; Rachel Holland- Substitute Teacher-Middle Schools (LTE 2023-24 school year); Julie Laborde-Grade 4 Teacher-Washington Elementary School (LTS 8/21/23-10/6/23); Andrew Travieso-Grade 5 Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School; Nicole Voigt-Substitute Teacher-Elementary Schools (LTE 2023-24 school year).

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, Kraus, Panzer, and Prieve. No-None.

Kraus moved, Tyjeski seconded, to adjourn the meeting.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote and the meeting was adjourned at 6:25 p.m.

/s/	
Chad Prieve, President	
/s/	
Marge Jorgensen, Clerk	